Four Paths of Yoga: A Novice’s Guide

Four Paths of Yoga

When it comes to discovering the true nature of yourself, nothing comes at par with yoga practice. It helps you unite with Divine Nature. Every soul has a unique nature. Therefore, a single path of yoga practice might not help you uncover or reach what you wished for. Well, in that case, following different paths of yoga might come in handy.

So, to ensure you become aware of the ‘True Nature’ of your life, make sure you go through the following points. Every path of yoga relates to a different element in the human being. Hence, don’t skip any points to make sure that you gain true knowledge. Read on.

Four Paths of Yoga

The four paths of yoga take mind, body, emotion, and energy into consideration to suit different personalities. Every path of yoga can be achieved with a different goal in mind.

Karma Yoga

Also known as Path of Action, Karma yoga signifies the art of selfless action. This selfless act is also known as ‘Seva’ that presents your every action as a service to the Divine. However, you do not expect anything in return for your service.

Karma yoga has dual elements that consist of Physical and mental Karma. It emphasizes the work you do that helps you unite with your Karma. Anyone who practices Karma yoga leads to the abolition of ego, hatred, and jealousy. All these are replaced with love and passion in the heart.

Hence, it is one of the paths of yoga that has helps you learn why to engage yourself in physical labor.

Jnana Yoga

Yoga philosophy helps you acknowledge the true meaning of different situations or circumstances in life. Hence, it improves your wisdom and experience in life. That is why it is also known as Gyana yoga.

In Sanskrit, Jnana yoga quietly relates to ‘Aham Brahmasmi’ that entitles Jnana yogi as a God of his own. Self-observance is the key element of Jnana yoga practice. As you observe, you grow and turn the acquired knowledge inwardly.

Hence, it helps the Jnana yoga practitioner to get in touch with the true self lying within. However, you need to have a Guru to practice Jnana yoga. The Guru will guide you to practice meditation and direct your practice. That is why you should explore different schools of yoga to find the right yoga guru.

Bhakti Yoga

Also known as Path to Devotion, Bhakti yoga helps you develop emotions of love and sacrifice for fellow beings. The devotion should not be only for human beings rather animals and other living creatures. You must surrender to the emotions of devotion to connect with the Divine power.

Since all it requires is surrender, therefore, it is one of the easiest paths of yoga that you can practice. Hence, it helps you uncover the dormant love energy in your heart. It eliminates hate that helps you feel closer to the Divine being.

Moreover, practicing Bhakti yoga burns jealously and anger in the emotions of devotion that elevates your other emotions.

Raja Yoga

Also known as the yoga of the mind, Raja yoga practice talks about discipline as its primary element. Just like a Raja has the sole power of his kingdom, practicing Raja yoga helps you take control over your mind. This helps you keep all the fluctuations in your mind in check.

Raja yoga takes 8 limbs of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras in check. Hence, it helps you give a clear picture in your mind. With time, the yoga practitioner learns to become one with the inner being.

The art of Raja yoga hovers over the practice of yoga poses, meditation, pranayama, and other yogic practices. Over time, it helps you attain Samadhi.

Aim of Four Paths of Yoga


The ultimate goal of the four paths of yoga is to attain and experience bliss. This helps your soul to strive for a calm and composed state.

Union With Supreme

Another goal of the four paths of yoga is the union with the supreme soul. It directs your soul towards mental peace and joy.

Wrap Up

Not everyone knows how to practice the four paths of yoga. Therefore, you should join an RYS Academy that helps you practice yoga under the guidance of a certified and experienced yoga teacher. Moreover, your presence in the right environment helps you take your yoga practice to the next level.

However, for that, you need to be consistent with your practice. Also, be patient enough to learn about the art of yoga and how to inculcate it in your life. When you do that, it becomes easier for you to have a yogic lifestyle.

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *